This Year Winners of Hugo Award for Best Novel

If you’re into fantasy stories or science fiction, then the Hugo Awards are surely something you’re looking forward to. Especially if you fell in love with certain books or authors, you want to see them succeed and take the award home. As such, all you have to do is keep an eye on the event and see the outcome, because there are a number of nominees waiting to see if they’ll be the ones to get the prize.

This year has some special writers in store for you, so who is in the race for the award on the science fiction section? You’ll find out in this article.

What is the Hugo Award for Best Novel?

Let’s remember what the Hugo awards are all about. First of all, you should know that this award is not something just recently invented. In fact, the first award has been given back in 1953 and has been given each year since then.

The Hugo Award for Best Novel is only one of the awards offered in this program, and it’s given to SF stories published during the preceding year. In addition, a novel must have at least 40,000 words to qualify for these awards. As such, many writers can potentially become award-winners for their amazing stories.

How Is the Award Winner Chosen?

The choosing part is a whole process which takes place over the course of months. Basically, from January to March, initial nominations are taking place, after which there are a series of votes given from April to July. These votes will determine which novel will get the big award.

The votes are offered by those who attend the annual Worldcon or support it, while its central event constituted by the presentation evening. This year, the winner will be chosen in Dublin, Ireland, while the ceremony will take place on August 18.

Who Are the Finalists for 2019?

Unlike previous years when the nominees consisted of five works, from 2017 forward it consists of six works. Therefore, there are six nominees for this year, and one of them will be chosen later during the following months.

The ones that made it to the finals this year are writers you might have heard about if you’re constantly looking for writing world news. They are:

  • Yoon Ha Lee with the book “Revenant Gun”
  • Catherynne M. Valente with the book “Space Opera”
  • Becky Chambers with the book “Record of a Spaceborn Few”
  • Rebecca Roanhorse with the book “Trail of Lighting”
  • Mary Robinette Kowal with the book “The Calculating Stars”
  • Naomi Novik with the book “Spinning Silver”

All of these authors were Hugo nominees prior to this year, while three of them won trophies in the past. However, they were not for novels. While Rebecca Roanhorse, Mary Robinette Kowal, and Catherynne Valente have been winners of awards in the past, Becky Chambers, Yooh Ha Lee and Naomi Novik are all being nominated for consecutive novels.

If you want to figure out who will be the big winner, then keep an eye on the announcement that will be given at Dublin in August this year.

Final Thoughts

The Hugo Award for Best Novel is surely a fun event to follow if you’re into one or more of the nominated writers. So far, they are winners in their own way because they made it to the finals but in the end, only one of them will be awarded. At WorldCon 77 which will be held in Ireland between August 15 and 19, the best one will be chosen.

Leave a Reply